Roland Martin– “Obama’s critics keep blasting him for Chicago-style politics. So, fine. Channel your inner Al Capone and go gangsta against your foes. Let ’em know that if they aren’t with you, they are against you, and will pay the price.” 

 You know, it’s funny, I just did a pretty exhaustive search and I can’t find a single instance of messier Martin calling on the Senate to give Bush’s nominees an up or down vote. Who knew that ole Roland was so embracing of the processes and traditions of the U.S. Senate? I mean surely there’s some instance of Roland calling out Senate Majority leader Harry Reid (D) of Nevade for his block on Bush’s appointments? After all, isn’t that what all the hub-bub was about when John McCain (R)- the maverick- and his merry gang of 14 negotiated a compromise with Dems on Bush judicial nominees? Hmmmmmmmm, after Reid went to so much effort to block Bush’s recess appointments in 2007- bemoaning the practice as undemocratic- I’m wondering if others might find this statement somewhat hypocritical?

“I have told the president enough is enough. He has the right as president of the United States to do recess appointments.”

Article II, Section 2 of the U.S. Constitution: “The President shall have Power to fill up all Vacancies that may happen during the Recess of the Senate, by granting Commissions which shall expire at the End of their next Session.

So, Obama can make his appointments, just like Bush was forced to after YEARS of Dem obstruction against his appointments. And like Bush, when the next session ends, Obama will be forced to re-submit his appointments. But I’m going to go out on a limb and say that Obama is going to have some real problems with his appointments, predominantly because I now believe that the GOP will take back the Senate in November. I know, I may be a dreamer, but with the way the American people are turning on the Dems, I think it is possible. I just want the Dems to admit that they’re talking out of both sides of their head on this…

